Writing and writing

Speaking of A. L. Kennedy, this quote from On Writing (2013) is simultaneously expressive and instructive:

writerBut mainly I am writing. I sleep soundly because I am deaf with exhaustion, and then I get up and write again and then I write some more and this is lovely. This is what I do, what I always wanted to do. I’m lucky to be here . . . I am able to do something I love and sometimes the circumstances in which I do it are more than pleasant. (p. 143)

Beautiful. Just how I feel on my best days. Onwards, indeed.

If you enjoyed this post, take a look at here.

2 thoughts on “Writing and writing

  1. Pingback: For My Children | Jeffrey W. Barbeau

  2. Pingback: George R. R. Martin on Reading | Jeffrey W. Barbeau

Leave a Reply

